Experimenting

So, I had worn a flat twist out for most of last week, but by Thursday, it was really starting to get fuzzy. I decided to do something that I had never been too successful in doing before, which was to put it in an updo.

I am somewhat challenged when it comes to styling hair so I was prepared for it to suck and for me to end up slapping a headband on it, but to my everlasting surprise, it came out halfway decent. I didn’t leave out as much hair on top as I wanted, so that part of it came out looking a little flat but it wasn’t half bad. I got the styling tips from this YouTube channel. This is what it looked like from the front:

And from the back:

Then, I had seen this person’s YouTube channel the other day and saw a video on there about defining your curls simply by using the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie and Ecostyler. While Allthat’sgold used the Olive Oil Ecostyler, I happen to have the pink Ecostyler currently. I doubt it matters which Ecostyler you use. Anyhoo, you simply smooth on the Curl Enhancing Smootie, mist your hair, then smooth on the gel, shake your hair and go. It’s done on slightly damp or dry hair. I figured this was a easier way to do a wash and go. Normally, if I do wash and goes during the week, I have to get up at least 45 minutes earlier than normal in order to wash my hair, shower and then put product in my hair in order to be not be late for work. Doing it Allthat’sgold’s way meant that I could wash my hair the night before, allow it to dry overnight, then just put the product on in the morning. So, on Thursday night, I co-washed using one of my staples, Suave Naturals. I have the lavendar one currently. Everyone loves the Coconut one but lately, that flavor has been hard to get in the store. After washing, I lathered on the Curl Junkie Beauticurls leave in, put my hair into 4 jumbo twists, let it air dry for a couple of hours then went to bed.  When I woke up on Friday morning, my hair was about 90% dry. I applied the CES and the Ecostyler as per her technique. The result is that my hair didn’t shrink as much as it often does with wash and goes. The thing is that I had to scrunch some of the product out as I experienced a fair amount of whiteness. I’ve used both products on wet hair before as well as with hair that was more damp and have experienced significantly less whiteness, so I know it was due to the fact that my hair was mostly dry. I’ll probably do it on hair that’s 50% dry next time, but then that might result in more shrinkage. Hmm. Well, here are the results from Friday. It’s a little flat, but it was only the first day.

This is how it looked yesterday. My hair has expanded and it looks fuller, which equals better.

In all, this style is a keeper, though I may tweak it with different product combinations. Who knew that doing your hair could actually be fun?

Leave a Reply

