When a style comes out right

So last weekend, I blew out my hair into a huge fro like so:

However, I didn’t want to wear big hair like that to work all last week. For the most part, the blown out fro results in a cotton candy cloud look that I’m really not a big fan of. I prefer curly fros that have some curl to them. So I decided to do a style that I haven’t had much success with before as an experiment-bantu knot outs. Most of the other times that I’ve attempted the style, it’s been a big fail because I’ve attempted them on damp hair and the knots simply DO.NOT.DRY. Which makes my hair look a hot mess. Someone suggested on a hair board that I frequent that the best way to achieve the style would be to do it on blown out hair. So the day after I blew out my hair, I spritzed some water, slapped on some Curl Junkie Honey Butta and proceeded to put in about 10 knots. I two strand twisted my hair into 10 twists first, then twirled each twist around on themselves into a knot, then secured each knot with bobby pins. You could also tuck the ends of the twists underneath each knot, but my hair tends not to want to stay, hence the pins. When I took the knots down the next morning, this was the result:

I pinned the bangs back to take some hair off my forehead. OMG! I loved the results. My hair was so fluffy and looked so full, which is no small feat considering how thin and fine it is. I’d love for it to be a new staple style but since blow drying has the potential to cause damage, I can’t wear it this way too often. Dang. I wore it like this for a couple of days, then wore it with a headband.

I had to do a protein treatment today, since the direct heat of blow drying breaks down the cuticle and wanted that repaired. I used an egg and some mayo, then low pooed with Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle shampoo, conditioned with HEHH, then deep conditioned with Curl Junkie Deep Fix. That deep conditioner is the truth! It leaves my hair super soft. I’ve put my hair into about 15 three strand twists for a twistout tomorrow. I’ve been doing those lately since I find that three strand twists give more definition than two strand ones. They also dry faster than braids and don’t take as long to unravel. It’s really not that hard to do three strand twists. With braids, you take three sections of hair, then braid them all toward the middle. With three strand twists, you divide your hair into three sections, then take the section on the farthest right and move it all the way to the farthest left. Then you take the next section and move it to the farthest left and then the next section and move it to the far left. All sections move toward the farthest left in a sense. It took a little while for me to remember not to move the sections toward the middle like you do with braiding before I was able to get it. The twists resemble ropes. If I remember, I’ll post pictures tomorrow for the results.

 

2 Responses to “When a style comes out right”

  1. I love your curls~ I have very curly hair too, and always use cocnut oil, and never wash it!

  2. […] When a style comes out right (confessionsofladyv69.wordpress.com) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "d7bced"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "7a7a7a"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "3b0466"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "585858"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "tips"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "family"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "health"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "hair-styles"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "chanernatural"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "natural-hair"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "elegent-styles"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "sakira-lilly"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "love-my-hair"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "healthy-hair"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "naya-curl"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "bantu-knots"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "twists"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "natural"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "natural-styles"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "shopping"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "tween"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "photos"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "beauty"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "health"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "hair"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "hair-care"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "natural-hair-styles"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "braid"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "aau-girls-basketball"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "basketball"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "knot"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "hair-loss"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "healthy-hair-whip"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Rate this: ShareTwitterFacebookLinkedInEmailStumbleUponRedditDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

