Is natural hair a fad?

Hola, all!

I’ve been rocking the same wash and go since Saturday, when I went to a botanical garden with a friend (which was a fail, since there were hardly any flowers in bloom), out to dinner with a meetup and then volunteered at a residential facility for HIV/AIDS patients on Sunday. I revisited Curl Junkie Curl Queen since the bottle I have was still about 80% full and I hate wasting product, even if I don’t care for it, which is the case for this stuff. Before using the Curl Queen gel, though, I co-washed with Herbal Essence Hello Hydration, then used Curl Junkie Beauticurls leave in. I feared that the leave-in mixed with the gel would turn my hair white, like it did another time, but thankfully, it didn’t. I was careful not to be too heavy handed with the leave in though. Some people can get away without using a leave in but I’m not one of them. My hair needs the moisture they provide too much to do without one. As far as the gel went, I did something different and mixed grapeseed oil with the Curl Queen in the hopes that it wouldn’t leave my hair as stiff and “producty.” The experiment was a success and my hair felt somewhat softer. Here’s the result:

A topic that pops up frequently in the natural hair community is whether or not our hair is a fad, due to the growing number of women who are choosing to embrace their kinks and curls. It rankles me that the way your hair grows out of your head can be considered a trend or something that goes in or out of fashion depending on some pundits whims because it compels people to do things to their hair that it wasn’t meant to do in order to fit in. Like how straight hair for at least the last two decades (if not longer) has been considered the hot trend because it’s considered so beautiful and sleek. This has caused countless women and girls with curly/highly textured to despise their hair because they get the message that it’s ugly and as a result they go to considerable lengths to straighten it in order to fit in, often resulting in damaged hair. A number of women actually care little about the damage they do to their hair just as long as it’s straight. Sad, huh?

I’m sure there are some people who are going natural just because their cousin or their BFF are or they think it’s the next hot thing, but that’s not the case for me. I didn’t do it to please other people, I did it for myself. I can’t afford for my hair to be some fad. It’s suffered enough damage to last two lifetimes, some of which I’m still living with to this day in the form of thin edges. Even after being natural for two years, they’re still thinner than they should be. Honestly, I’m not sure they will ever grow back in fully regardless of what I do because the scarring of the hair follicle in some places is probably too severe. I won’t know for sure until I see a doctor about the matter. This issue alone is enough for me to never put chemicals in my hair ever again. It won’t make any nevermind to me if most of the people that are now natural start slapping relaxers again in a few years because I’m not that invested in what other people do nor do I care about what people think of my hair. I only have the time and the energy to be concerned about what I do. I have no interest in getting burns and scabs every eight weeks for years on end ever again. I have no interest in seeing clumps of hair on the floor ever again, either. I like not having to be concerned about rain or humidity. In short, I plan on doing wash and goes and twistouts when I’m ninety, thankyouverymuch.

Leave a Reply

