Hair ends

First, an Hazel update: Her antibiotic medication was switched from liquid to pill form yesterday. Even though I’d put the liquid antibiotic in her food, she simply wasn’t getting the full dosage of it as she wouldn’t eat it all. With the pills, I put them in those pill pocket treats from Greenies and Hazel gobbles them up. She’s probably less able to taste the medicine that way. So far, so good. She’s doing okay otherwise, so that’s another plus.

Okay, back on the hair tip today. I’m sure you’re all thrilled. In the midst of all the crap I’ve been through, I neglected to say that I dusted my ends a couple of weeks ago. It’s simply a mini-trim. My ends were really jacked up and I was getting knots like crazy. The amount of knots that I’ve gotten since the dusting have been reduced considerably. Since I’ve gone fully natural, I’ve trimmed my hair myself. I’ve had numerous negative experiences in salons whereby I’d tell the stylist that I only wanted about a half an inch of hair trimmed and before I knew it, three inches were gone from my hair. If I do it myself, I know that only the amount that I want trimmed will be done and no more. The last picture here shows the result of my dusting in which my ends don’t look so frayed. If I didn’t mistrust hair stylists so much, I suppose I could go to a salon for a professional and neater trim, since my hair is kind of uneven as it is. You don’t have to cut your hair that evenly with curly or kinky hair because the coils in your hair hide unevenness. Also, my uneven hair isn’t that noticeable to other people but at part of me would like something more polished. The issue isn’t just stylists that ignore my wishes, it’s what a trim would cost. Natural salons charge half a fortune and many of them flat iron your hair and then trim it. I limit the use of direct heat on my hair because of the potential for damage. And at this point, nobody would know what my hair needs as much as I do.

On one hair board the other day, somebody posted that some white acquaintance of hers commented that her hair must take a very long time to do and she was feeling some kind of way about it. I went on a tour to Canada last year and roomed with this older Australian woman. A couple of days into the trip she remarked the same thing-that my hair must take a long time to do. I’ll tell you right now that in my case, that statement is false. I’m fairly lazy when it comes to my hair. If it takes me more than 90 minutes to do it, including the time it takes to wash it, I don’t bother. That may be a lot of time to some people, but I have to take into account that I have to be more gentle in handling my hair than other people. Because my hair is so tightly coiled, it is actually more fragile than straight hair, which a lot of people find hard to believe. Black natural hair may look coarse and tough, but in a lot of cases, Afro-American natural hair is like mine-fine and thin. I’ve heard white friends and acquaintances say they’ve damaged their hair with color, flat irons and blow drying but since they tend to have looser textures and their hair isn’t as fragile, most of the time, it takes longer for their damage to show. It’s not out of the question for my hair to get damaged with flat ironing just ONE time, whereas with looser textures, it could takes months of flat ironing for it to get damaged. I can’t just run a comb through my hair and comb it from the root down to the end. For one thing, I can’t use fine toothed combs that straighties use. They’ll rip out my hair. I can only use wide tooth ones. Also, combing my hair from the top down would damage my hair. I have to comb from the bottom up and gently work out any tangles I encounter. If I’m not able to comb the tangle out, I use my fingers. With that said, it only takes me about 15 minutes to detangle my hair, primarily because I stretch it with twistouts/braidouts and because my hair isn’t thick. This is the one time where having fine hair can be a blessing. I pity thick haired naturals who have one hour detangling sessions.   

So anyhoo, lately my main styles have been a wash and go, braidouts and twistouts, with puffs and curly fros here and there. None of those styles in and of themselves take more than an hour and puffs and curly fros take just 5 minutes to do. I feel there’s more to life than being a slave to my hair. There are some naturals who take around 6 hours to do their hair in certain protective styles, like braids and twists, because they want them really small and neat. More power to them. I ain’t one of them. While I initially arrived on that Canada trip, my hair was in a braidout. It took me about 10 or 15 minutes each night to rebraid my hair into about 8-12 braids. The next day, it took about 10 minutes to take the braids outs, moisturize, seal and fluff my hair. That was it. The one time I washed my hair on that trip and did a wash and go, it took a little over an hour. That roommate, who had naturally straight hair, washed her hair every other day, then took about 45 minutes to blow dry her hair. Her hair routine took as much if not more time than mine. And her hair wasn’t as versatile either, whereas I can change my curl pattern whenever I want to. In short, however amount of time you want to put into your hair is up to you.

2 Responses to “Hair ends”

  1. […] Hair ends (confessionsofladyv69.wordpress.com) LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "0"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "666666"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "333333"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "105CB6"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "8DAB3B"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "food"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "fitness-2"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "food-2"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "health-2"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "kroger"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "shopping-2"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "weight-loss-2"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "caramel-apples"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "days-of-our-lives"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "hairstyle"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "kroger"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "shopping"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "walking"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "work"); LD_AddSlot("wpcom_below_post"); LD_GetBids(); Share this:FacebookEmailPrintTwitterStumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. […] = ''; } Hello BeautifulSynthetic Wigs – Easy to Care Hair AccessoryHair ends […]

Leave a Reply

