Rainy day musings

I’m doing something new here. I’m a musical person and there are times I want to have a song in my posts to represent my mood. So, first up is something from an all time favorite of mine, Jill Scott!

It’s pouring as I write this. I feel like it’s Noah’s Ark or something. I was out late last night with a friend, first at karaoke and then at another bar afterward and it rained sheets then too. I was nearly drenched just dashing from the venues to her car. My hair was always on point, though. I must say that karaoke is something I never thought I’d be able to do. I was shy and had social anxiety disorder when I was younger, so the mere thought of getting up and belting cheesy songs in front of a live audience used to terrify me. Within the last few years though, I’ve been around friends who are really into it and like anything else, the more you do something, the more you get used to it, so I don’t get so mortified anymore. I will qualify this by saying that I’d probably find it easier doing it in a bar when you may never see most of the people again. There are a couple of places in the city where you rent a small room with four of your friends to do karaoke and since it’s so intimate, I might find that a little more intimidating.

I must update you on the date I had on Friday! We went out for some Indian fare and then went out for dessert afterward. It was probably one of the best dates I’ve ever been on. I was less nervous than I’d thought I’d be since I made a concentrated effort on just enjoying the moment. My date was fairly easygoing and easy to talk to and went out of his way to make sure I had a good time. I didn’t want it to end, really. As far as the check went, he paid for the dinner and I paid for dessert . I had an anxious moment when it came time for us to part as I had no idea whether to kiss him, shake hands or what. We ended up hugging and kissing each other on the cheek which was kind of sweet. A handshake would have been way too rigid and formal, I think. A kiss on the lips might have been a little too intimate for me at this point, so what we ended up doing was perfect. He wants to see me again! The thing is, my birthday is this coming Friday and I have plans. I did invite him, which may not have been the right thing to do, really since I don’t know him that well and since I’d be among friends, he may feel awkward. He didn’t commit anyway, saying he already had plans. They wouldn’t conflict that much with mine, since my plans are at night and his are during the day, but I don’t expect him to show.  The next time we’d both be free would be next Sunday, so we’ll see what happens.

This was how I wore my hair on Friday:

 

It’s hard to tell from the pictures, but I put one flat twist on both sides and just pinned them back. The rest of my hair is in a twistout. I don’t have a good picture from a side angle. As far as the dress goes, it’s actually a vintage Vera Wang one from the early 70’s that I got in a clothing swap last year. At first I didn’t even think it was vintage. It doesn’t look dated at all.  I’d noticed that the size on the tag said 14 and figured I couldn’t fit into it as I’m usually an 8. But the organizer stated that it was vintage and they sized differently back then, so a size 14 40 years ago would be equivalent to about a size 10 or 8 today. The dress fits me perfectly. I got compliments on it from my date, too!

I’m debating whether to do my hair today. It would behoove me to do a deep treatment. I washed it on Thursday night, so it really doesn’t need to be washed today, but I need to clean my house too. Decisions, decisions.

Leave a Reply

